Clinton Park Stables

I live in Hells’ Kitchen, just a few blocks from Clinton Park Stables.  I love having the carriage horses in our neighborhood, the sounds of the hoofs, the brief exchanges and waves as the horses are on their way home in the evening….

There is a huge fight underway to ban the horse carriages from NYC.  I wanted to see through my camera a bit more about the lives of the horses, their drivers and the people who work the stables.  I visited Clinton Park stables three times over this past week and received a wonderful welcome. I wanted my camera to be a nonpartisan lens.

I saw working partners, a little magic, a little theatre, history, grit, majesty, and much tenderness.

Steve and his horse

about to head out on a winter day

about to head out on a winter day

Clinton Park Stables

Dimitar and Billy Getting Ready

Dimitar and Billy
Getting Ready

Clinton Park Stables

Mitch and Tickles

Mitch and Tickles

Heading to Central Park from Hells' Kitchen

Heading to Central Park from Hells’ Kitchen

Frank and Phineas, who has just come to NYC from Amish Country

Frank and Phineas, who has just come to NYC from Amish Country

A Conversation

A Conversation

Thanks so much to Stephen Malone for his generosity.  Stephen is a spokesperson for the Horse and Carriage Association and one of the 35 owners of the Clinton Park Stables, the largest of the four carriage horse stables in the city.  He gave me a tour of the stables and shared the story of Clinton Park Stables and the horses and drivers that work together here.  If you would like to help save the carriage horses, please visit the Save NYC Carriage Horses.

Steve Malone and his horse

Stephen Malone and his horse

 

10 thoughts on “Clinton Park Stables

  1. Jon Katz’ blog sent me, too. This is wonderful, wonderful work. My favorite is A Conversation because it captures so eloquently what the two horses are expressing. Words alone are an incomplete and inadequate means of conveying the meaning of horses’ communication, so I thank the gods for talented photographers.

  2. Thank you for getting involved in supporting the carriage horses and driver owners. Your photos are lovely, I also follow and read Jon Katz’s work and enjoy it.

  3. Your pictures are so expressive and tell their own story. It is nice to see people like you and Jon Katz talking for the horses and their owners. Keep up the good work. Good luck.

  4. Pingback: Carriage Horses and The Art of Painting the World | Through the lens looking

Leave a comment