Honorable Mention

I entered my first juried photography contest a few weeks ago.  It was a contest sponsored by the Sante Fe Photographic Workshops and the topic was HOME.

The call for submissions asked for work related to:

“A room, a house, a city, a forest, a beach, a person, a feeling. HOME.

From where we grew up to where we currently live to where we left our proverbial heart, home often means the place or places to which we feel most strongly connected. Through the lens, we capture the love, the sanctuary, the comfort and the chaos we experience in and around our homes.”

This is a photographic area that I am fascinated by and have been creating in for quite a while.  As many of you know, I created a series of images of my father’s home of 45 years, which my Dad sold this spring.  Last year, a friend invited me to make photos of her historic Cape home.  I love the portraits that places offer. I submitted a series of five images, a mixture of images from Sally’s home and my Dad’s.

On Friday, I received notification that one of my photos was selected for an honorable mention! 287 photographers participated in the contest and I am incredibly thrilled to have a photo chosen!  You can see the full gallery of the prize winners and honorable mentions. Honored to have a picture among this beautiful, diverse and powerful group of images.

clstewart_140806_1462

Sally’s Bedroom

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “Honorable Mention

  1. No surprise, and the acknowledgment is well deserved! Congratulations, Cathy! Cheers, Elizabeth Allen

    Sent from my iPad

    >

  2. Congratulations Cath! I do so love these interiors; you  can smell the dust motes and the seasoned wood, the bed flopped in for years, the window that must have stored in it the ghosty quanta from thousands of dawns and starry skies. Thanks for letting us know! Warren

    From: Through the lens looking To: unicornqqq@yahoo.com Sent: Monday, June 20, 2016 7:20 PM Subject: [New post] Honorable Mention #yiv0288757066 a:hover {color:red;}#yiv0288757066 a {text-decoration:none;color:#0088cc;}#yiv0288757066 a.yiv0288757066primaryactionlink:link, #yiv0288757066 a.yiv0288757066primaryactionlink:visited {background-color:#2585B2;color:#fff;}#yiv0288757066 a.yiv0288757066primaryactionlink:hover, #yiv0288757066 a.yiv0288757066primaryactionlink:active {background-color:#11729E;color:#fff;}#yiv0288757066 WordPress.com | cathylstewart posted: “I entered my first juried photography contest a few weeks ago.  It was a contest sponsored by the Sante Fe Photographic Workshops and the topic was HOME.The call for submissions asked for work related to:”A room, a house, a city, a forest, a beach, a p” | |

Leave a Reply

