2016…a new year underway

winter flowers on the battenkill January 1, 2016

winter flowers on the battenkill
January 1, 2016

I am savoring the start of 2016.

I will be spending time each month in Arizona, working with a diverse team of leaders and activists to bring nonpartisan reform to the Arizona election system. I am the Vice President for National Development at IndependentVoting.org and am working with our local affiliate, Independent Voters for Arizona to build an activist network of independents across the state. In Arizona, independents are the largest community of voters yet remain marginalized by a highly partisan political system that is having very detrimental consequences for the state.

Independent Voters for Arizona and Independent Voting activists: Tim Castro, Jackie Salit, President of Independent Voting; Jim Morrison; myself and Kim Wright

Independent Voters for Arizona and Independent Voting activists: Tim Castro, Jackie Salit, President of Independent Voting; Jim Morrison; myself and Kim Wright

We hope to bring an initiative to the ballot that would allow the voters to move their elections to a wholly nonpartisan system, that puts the voters first, not the parties.  I will keep you posted!

I also host an online book club for independent minded Americans, the Politics for the People Book Club.  We will be reading some great books and creating some wonderful conversations with our authors this year.

In addition, I will be spending much time in upstate NY, in Shushan near the Battenkill River.

So, from Phoenix to New York City to Shushan, I hope you will read along through my journeys this year.  I will be sharing many photos and thoughts across the days.

I wish everyone a year filled with joy, adventures, and surprising developments…

Collection Can

Collection Can

P.S. I have taken on a small challenge at the suggestion of my brother Matt.  Each day you put aside the amount of money equal to what day of the year it is (1 penny on Jan 1, 32 pennies on Feb 2, etc) By the end of the year you will have saved $667.95.  I like this…fun to do across my travels and I am thinking of using this to add a piece of art to our upstate home.

4 thoughts on “2016…a new year underway

    • Yes, that is true in too many places across the state. And at a time when 37% of voters in Arizona are independent. We are hoping to put an initiative on the ballot that would create nonpartisan elections, where all the candidates would appear on the ballot, all voters could participate and the top two vote getters would be on the general election ballot. It makes the primaries public. I think it would be a valuable culture change in the elections

Leave a Reply

